Twin Peaks: New album and UK Tour News

Chicagoan alt. rock quintet return in May with new album Down in Heaven

Posted on Feb 5th, 2016 in News, Twin Peaks
Twin Peaks: New album and UK Tour News US alt. rock troupe Twin Peaks have announced their return with their third LP Down In Heaven, due for release on the 13th May through Communion Records via Caroline International.

A preview to the new set, the LPs opening cut, the country rock inspired Walk To The One You Love has just been added to the band’s YouTube account.

Recorded on a reel-to-reel tape machine in a friend’s lakeside house in Western Massachusetts last summer, the LP was co-produced by the group and longtime collaborator R. Andrew Humphrey with mixing duties handled by John Agnello (Kurt Vile, Dinosaur Jr., Sonic Youth).

Incorporating influences from new wave, glam rock , power pop and doo-wop, the new LP looks set to build on these elements with guitarist Clay Franken saying of the upcoming album, ‘I don't know yet what kind of band we are, since we keep changing with every year’.

The follow up to hugely acclaimed second album Wild Onion (2014), in the time between albums the band have developed a reputation for their exhilarating live shows, their last visit to the UK (interview) in addition to festival slots, including a series of raucous house parties (review).

With an extensive set of US and Europe dates in the Spring, the Illinois group visit these shores for a clutch of shows in mid April (see below).

Down in Heaven Tracklisting:

1. Walk To The One You Love
2. Wanted You
3. My Boys
4. Butterfly
5. You Don’t
6. Cold Lips
7. Heavenly Showers
8. Keep It Together
9. Getting Better
10. Holding Roses
11. Lolisa
12. Stain
13. Have You Ever?

Twin Peaks play live:

Fri. Apr 15th - Sheffield @ Picture House Social Club
Sat. Apr. 16th – Glasgow @ Stereo
Sun. Apr. 17th – Manchester @ Deaf Institute
Tue. Apr. 19th - London @ Camden Barfly, Radio X

Photo credit: Daniel Topete